India Beyond Taj Mahal

 

img_5303

Taj Mahal – one of the seven wonders of the world, undoubtedly is one of the best things to see in India. Did I just write one of the best…yes, you know why – because there are so many places in India which are just over-shadowed because of the Taj. Don’t mind, I too love Taj, I’ve already been to Taj so many times now and yet never get enough of it. The reality is that India is a diverse, multi-cultured nation, despite this tourists usually prefer Taj and combines it with Jaipur and Delhi at max. Isn’t it unfair to other parts of India with immense beauty receives a cold-shoulder!!

Every time I go through a travel blog or a traveller’s bucket list with a mention to India, it just revolves around Taj Mahal. So, today I would like to introduce my readers with India beyond Taj Mahal.

#Kashmir

Kashmir – also known as ‘Paradise on earth‘ which Indians often even compare to Switzerland. At the origin of Indian boundary adjacent to Pakistan stands a state with snowy mountains, greenery all around and beautiful lakes to fall in love with. 

Courtesy – Google

The capital of the state – Srinagar has the largest tulip garden in Asia with a view of dazzling Dal Lake which is frozen to snow in winters, snow studded mountains in Gulmarg and the cold desert in Leh/Ladakh. A trip to Kashmir will leave you with a gillion memories to cherish for lifelong.

#Kerala

The southern-most state of India is a land of exquisite beaches, lush green hills, tea gardens, backwaters and much more. Kerala also has world-renowned Ayurveda centers and monsoon is the recommended time to treat yourself with an Ayurvedic massage. 

Courtesy – Google

Enjoy the majestic waterfalls, click immense pictures of the photogenic paddy fields & take a sip of the fresh coconut water for an everlasting memory. For art lovers, Kerala will present you the famous dance form – Kathakali. I can assure you after a visit to Kerala, you’ll not leave disappointed.

#North-East India

You might wonder why I have not mentioned a particular state here and rather mentioned entire North-east region. It is because North-East states – a total of 7 states – are jaw dropping beautiful and are now slowly gaining popularity amongst travellers.

Courtesy – Google

These states offer a variety of places to see that no matter how many days you spend there, you might not be able to cover all of them. Starting from Gangtok, Darjeeling, Siliguri, Pelling and many more.

Tawang_Gate
Courtesy – Google

Sikkim has immense natural beauty and might even be considered as a perfect Honeymoon destination.

Courtesy – Google

Shillong in Meghalaya which offers panoramic city views, gorgeous waterfalls, and even man- made lake. Assam, Manipur, Nagaland, Tripura & Arunachal Pradesh are the other states having so much to see that we might need a different post for each state to cover.

#Rajasthan & Gujarat

I know many of you might have heard about Jaipur, Udaipur, Jodhpur in Rajasthan and mainly because of the forts and scenic beauty. But have you heard about Rann of Kutch in Gujarat? Rann of Kutch is located in Thar Desert is a seasonal salt marsh and has gained the title of largest salt deserts of the world. 

Courtesy – Google

Gujarat is also known for grand palaces & forts, shrines with intricate architecture, national parks and quaint beaches. Considering Amitabh Bachchan is endorsing the state, the tourism for the state have boosted exceptionally.

Courtesy – Google

Every state here has a unique feel and a different architecture with breathtaking views. A special mention to few of the other states which are to a level already getting a lot of tourism. Goa – of course the party capital of the country!! Chennai – with the nation’s longest natural urban beach & even one of the world’s longest beaches. Pondicherry – Love french culture? Gets a dose of the french architecture and tranquil beaches here. Himachal for natural beauty of Himalayan mountains and a peek at the summer capital of India ~ Shimla. Punjab for the largest and most renowned Sikh shrine. Odisha with a history which dates back to King Ashoka and beaches & lakes to experience migratory birds.

Although the list is not yet finished but these are the must-visit states in India. Whenever you plan a trip to India, I highly recommend including some of these places in the itinerary.

Have you been to India? What did you see apart from Taj Mahal and Jaipur? Do share your experience with us!!

 

– The Wanderer

Follow me on Instagram and Twitter.

90 thoughts on “India Beyond Taj Mahal

  1. I have been to India 3 times and I have only managed to see a little bit of the North, Rajasthan, and Varanasi. I fell in love with the beautiful colors and traditions from Rajasthan and I have to say that yes, the Taj Mahal is beautiful but there are also other stunning places around. I was amazed by the Jaisalmer fort and by Udaipur. And by far, the cultural and traditional Varanasi fascinated me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re so right – we all think of the Taj Mahal but there’s so much else to see in India. My son visited last year and loved it. Those photos are gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree that India has so much more to see than the Taj mahal, it’s such a huge country. I’ve visited most of the places you’ve mentioned. What I missed though is Kasmir but I hope to visit next year when I will return to India!

    Like

  4. India has much more and in fact, one can’t accommodate them in one list. But good that you have made this post because many foreigners visiting India don’t know anything beyond the so called Golden Triangle. It is not their fault but the lack of imagination of the tour operators and authorities who themselves don’t know better.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This has ignited my wanderlust. I never knew that India ws so diverse and so beautiful. I could easily spend a few months exploring all these amazing places. So great that you have introduced another side of India and not focused solely on the Taj.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love Kerala Shibani! We visited both Kovalam Beach and Muhamma. Adored each spot. KB especially because the beauty of the jungle, the hills and the beach, along with fab dining spots, the boardwalk, and the treatment centers made for a brilliant 3 week stay.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I didn’t know many places in India. Thank you for introducing me to other beautiful destinations within this country. I’d love to visit Kerala if I have a chance to experience Ayurvedic massage!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I agree with you, Taj Mahal is so popular I think it’s on everyone’s bucket list! But I love that you showed a different side to India as well. It is such a big country that focusing entirely on seeing the Taj Mahal will surprise you with how many other things you can see or do.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Certainly there is no denying how fabulous the Taj Mahal is and it is understandable that so many people are drawn to it’s beauty and the fact that it is one of the wonders of the world. However, I think many people are simply unaware of the size, diversity and degree of beauty the rest of India holds. Hopefully campaigns like ‘Incredible India’ can help address this misconception and highlight that there is just so much that the rest of India has to offer. It is often a slow educative process to bring about awareness that there is so much more. This post is a great example of pointing out that there are so many other beautiful things to see and experience in this amazing country.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Visiting India would be a dream come true! I am in love with everything about this place since I was a little girl and would watch movies from India with my grandma in which there was a lot of singing and dancing!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. On my first visit to India I went to Gorakhpur (random but not through choice — I was travelling overland from Nepal), Agra and Mumbai. Aside from Taj Mahal, which was breathtaking in real life, I didn’t fall in love with India.
    I went back twice last year – first in April, when I spent a month in Kerala and truly truly fell in love, and then again from September – December when I went back to Kerala and also hit up Goa, Karnataka, Rajasthan and Mumbai. Now I just can’t wait to go back and see so much more of the country!! Kashmir is high up on my list. I actually wanted to visit on my last trip, but because of the unrest going on at the border my government warned all British citizens to avoid against all but essential travel, so if I were to get caught up in something I would have been left to fend for myself, so to speak. I also want to go back and see more of Rajasthan as I only went to Udaipur, Jaipur and Ajmer, and there’s so much I missed! Then I also want to visit Chennai, Dehradun, Rishikesh, Hyderabad and Varanasi simply because I have friends originating from them so have heard fantastic things!
    Sorry for the monster comment, I just love India and there’s so much of the country I want to visit! I definitely agree with you that there’s so much more to India than Taj Mahal.

    I do have certain friends who frequently ask me why do I keep going back when I’ve already seen the Taj, and that they’d only visit for that. And you’re right, there’s so much more and people should really get out there and look!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. You’re right. I think people forget just how big India is! The Taj, of course is amazing, but look at all of the other things that can be done in this beautiful country? Kerala looks like a tropical paradise!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Ah I’ve actually been to India, traveled around for almost a month & not see the Taj Mahal! ahah! I really enjoyed Rajasthan and the desert, i met so many lovely people in India. Would love to go back there’s so much to see as you say! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I’ve never been to India but it is definitely on my list of places I would love to see. I am amazed at the beauty of the cities you have shared here, and I would never have expected to see snow-covered mountains in India like the ones in Kashmir! I would love to visit all of the cities you have featured and now I want to go to India even more.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Gorgeous photos, I really like how you covered all the different areas. I think India is so big and broad and so many things to do and see it can get overwhelming. I love the photo of the North East, that looks so interesting. I still think I would want to visit the Taj though – even though I’m not much for tourist traps. Is there much inside to see or is mostly the outside?

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Wow, Kashmir looks SO amazing! I honestly didn’t realize that India had so many different types of landscapes. Thanks so much for sharing these other places to visit, I definitely identify with the travelers who’ve only put Taj Mahal on their lists. Now I’ll be adding more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I LOVE this post!! I always try to do my best to focus my blogposts on more off the beaten path, non-touristy things to do (or at least less touristy things to do) so I really appreciate it. North-East India looks beautiful… I’d love to take pics on that river (is it a river?). Seems like such a wide variety of things to do there! If I make it to India I’m definitely going to check some of these things out – beyond the Taj Mahal 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I totally agree with you as India in not only Taj but many more beautiful places. Kerala, Kashmir and North East India has unmatched nature. The temples of India and architectural beauty of Rajasthan shows the India’s rich culture from centuries. Loved your post.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I’ve never been to India, so this is very useful to know about the regions. I like the sound of Kerala and the north-east of the country. Of course, visiting the Taj Mahal is a must, I know it’s busy, but I’d love to see it!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. I’ve not yet had the opportunity to visit India. It is a destination we’ve spoken about so many times, but just have’t known where to start in building an itinerary. I love your description if Kashmir … I think I’d like to visit here first!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. I really like the title! Belonging to Chennai, I’m from the part of India which most tourists, not just International, but also Indians, ignore! Btw, I’m yet to visit Kashmir, its very high up on my wishlist!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. I love looking at pictures of the Taj Mahal and of course would love to visit it, but I can understand how other places would be overshadowed by it. Kashmir is a region I would very much like to explore. I think it is beautiful and agree that some people compare it to Switzerland!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. I agree no less with you. With this posts and the beautiful pictures I’ve seen so far, of be doing myself a big disfavoit if I visited India just for Taj Mahal alone. I’m more enlightened and I would consider exploring the beauty of North East states and almost all other places you mentioned. The pictures speak of the beauty and innocence of nature which is unadulterated.

    Like

Leave a Reply

