DSLR Purchase – Welcome Suggestions

Hey guys,

I don’t know how many of you have noticed that till date the photos I capture are from my iPhone 6s. I started this as hobby and now I feel I have learnt some basics on the same and would like to move on to next level. I know my community have some great photographers, so I’m looking for advice from you all to help me select DSLR/Mirrorless camera.

Before moving on to the ones I have shortlisted, I want to put some baselines:

  1. I’m a beginner, never operated a DSLR much before *except of a friends’*.
  2. My budget is primarily around  *500 – 650 USD* // *30000 – 45000 INR*.
  3. I would mainly shoot – landscapes, birds/animals(not wildlife specifically), street photography, portraits/family, architecture and macro.

My (final) list includes these –

  • Nikon D5300 24.2MP Digital SLR Camera (Black) with AF-P 18-55mm f/ 3.5-5.6g VR ( ~ 510USD/ 34000INR)
  • Nikon D5300 Digital SLR Camera (Black) with AF-S DX 18-55mm VR II and AF-S DX 55-200mm VR II ( ~ 750USD/ 50000INR)
  • Nikon Digital Camera D5300 BK IN AF-P 18-55 & AF-P DX NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4.5-6.3G VR Kit ( ~ 660USD/ 44000INR)
  • Nikon D3300 24.2MP Digital SLR (Black) + AF-P DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR Lens + AF-P DX NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4.5-6.3G ED VR Lens ( ~ 540USD/ 36000INR)
  • Canon EOS 700D 18MP Digital SLR Camera (Black) with 18-55mm IS II and 55-250mm IS II Lens ( ~ 500USD/ 33500INR)
  • Sony Alpha A6000L 24.3MP Digital SLR Camera (Black) with 16-50mm Lens (ILCE-6000L)  – *Mirrorless* (~720$/48000INR) 

Few Questions from my side:

  1. Firstly, I think I need to figure out whether I should go ahead with DSLR or Mirrorless camera. I visited an electronics shop yesterday and the salesman suggested Mirrorless because of the *optical viewfinder and fast autofocus*. But it is definitely higher in cost as well, and I’m skeptical whether it is that worth of investing.
  2. I’m not much aware about lenses as well, so any help towards that will also be much appreciated. I have read somewhere that VR II lens is good, but not sure what it is and if I choose VR(Nikon) or IS II(canon – 5th in queue), will that be ok for beginner photography.
  3. The salesman suggested canon EOS 700D, but I’m thinking about MPs here, it has 18MP against 24MP in Nikon, but how much difference will that make??
  4. Also, Canon EOS 700D have touch panel as an advantage, but is it really that helpful in longer terms?
  5. Nikon D5300 have shooting modes, I guess they’re not there in Nikon D3300 and not even in Canon EOS 700D. Is it helpful for a beginner?
  6. How important is zoom lens –  DX 55-200mm VR II / NIKKOR 70-300mm / Canon 55-250mm IS II Lens? Can I buy without zoom lens right now and expand later or save money now by purchasing the camera with the kit?
  7. If someone can explain these zoom lens range, then that would be great.

Hoping to hear some suggestions to finalize a camera. As this would my first DSLR camera, I’m really excited about it and don’t want to mess it up by choosing randomly based on Amazon reviews.

Thanks in advance..

– The Wanderer

Follow me on Instagram and Twitter.

8 thoughts on “DSLR Purchase – Welcome Suggestions

  1. Maybe you already bought a camera, but I wanted to mention that the smaller mirrorless and micro four thirds cameras can be better for street shooting, which you mentioned you want to do. Not to mention being easier to carry around and stash in a bag! I’m using an Olympus OM D-1, which has enough megapixels, for me, since I mostly show photographs online, and is incredibly versatile. I have a range of lenses now, but started with a kit lens. It’s a hard decision – if there’s any way you can borrow a camera, even for an hour, to get a feel fro it, that would be a big help, too. Thanks for the follow!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the advice.. I’m yet to finalise which one to buy and still considering mirrorless as well. I’ll consider your recommendation while finalising.
      Thank you once again.

      Like

  2. Going by your budget and what you’re interested in imaging I’d select the D5300|18-55mm + 70-300mm VR. You’d have a really good kit.

    Mega Pixels, and sensor size are going to count when you crop in to see the bird, flower, or insect closer than you’ll find you can get once you start imaging and upload the image. 🙂

    If your budget allows adding a Canon 500D close up lens will get you even closer with that 70-300mm which if I remember correctly has a minimum focus distance of 5ft. With the close up lens you can get as close at 2ft or closer. I sold my 70-300mm so I don’t remember for sure how close I was able to get, but it was close!
    Here’s a link to my flickr site with images I made using the 70-300mm. It’s a versatile lens. I used it for birding, close ups, landscapes, portraits, and Moon shots.

    The 18-55mm isn’t a slouch either. It’s got some distortion on the wide end, but that’s easily corrected in photo editing software. It’s light weight, and sharp. It also does a really great close up.

    If you are able to swing the Canon 500D Close-up lens add a Step-Up ring for both the 18-55mm and 70-300mm to fit on a 77mm Canon 500D close up lens.

    You’d need a 52mm to 77mm STEP UP ring and a 67mm to 77mm STEP UP ring so you can use both lenses with the close up lens.
    Nikon’s Pro lenses have 77mm lens front elements so getting your accessories to fit that you only have to buy one close up lens. That’s what I’ve done. If you have questions about Step Up rings and the Canon 500D just ask. There are also extension tubes you can get to get really close.

    Going from a cell phone camera to a DSLR you’re going to love the image quality! Isolating subjects and blurring out the backgrounds I imagine you’re going to LOVE!

    I’m a birder and haven’t moved to mirrorless because tracking and auto-focus aren’t as good as my DSLR’s in addition to depth of field, and bigger sensors. Having a lens with 300mm is far better than 200mm when birding, and it still won’t be long enough. Sigh.

    You’re not just purchasing a camera, you’re purchasing a “system” that you’ll likely have for years. Best of luck to you making your decision.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad to receive your inputs, really helpful and gave me an insight of what I may finally proceed to. I’ll look about the close up lenses you mentioned.
      Thanks a ton for sharing your knowledge 💖
      Have a great day 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Sherry,
      Thank you so for the recommendation. I checked out Nikon D750, undoubtedly it is the beast of a camera, although I’m afraid its’ little out of my budget. I will surely check it out in the camera shops to get to know more about the same.
      Appreciate your inputs 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

